Veganism Pt. 2

So the first time I went vegan was a little over a year ago. I did a month of research and took a couple weeks to transition from a healthier version of the standard American diet to an actually healthy diet of veganism. Or so I thought. At first I was super healthy but over time I became an unhealthy vegan- living off of just nutbutters, breads, sugars, bagels, etc. I was living in my dorm away from home at this time. Fresh veggies didn’t seem appealing and I became unhappy. Also at this time my period- which has always been irregular- stopped. My hormones were completely out of whack. So I went to a doctor and was told to eat eggs and diary to get more fats even though I was already living off of nuts.  But I listened to the doctors advice for my health and for the sake of my mom. But it didn’t work, period did not come, acne remained. I was still not eating healthy and was eating animal products which are unhealthy. Then at home, frustrated, I decided that the last time my hormones were in balance and my period was at least happening was when I was eating all animal products so I went back to that. No change. Still no period. Worse acne. Frustrated and confused with doctors telling me one thing, my body not making sense and my morals telling me something else, I began researching veganism again. This time more in depth and this time into the actual health research not just for animal rights. I know eat a Whole Foods plant based diet. So yes vegan, but I try to avoid refined and processed foods. My period has come back as of today. My skin looks to be clearing up. I know I am doing the right thing for the animals, the environment and for my own health. Go vegan, but still think about your food choices within that.

I would also like to say that I am devastated with myself for not sticking with veganism, and the harm to animals and be environment that I inflicted in the meantime pains me. But I also think it took that full year of learning to be at the place that I am at now- I place where I feel phenomenal, and where I am following a lifestyle that is sustainably beneficial for all parties. Thank you for reading.

2 thoughts on “Veganism Pt. 2

  1. I am so sorry you had such a hard journey to veganism, but please don’t beat yourself up about it. You need to have compassion for yourself as well as for others. Most doctors (general practitioners) are only offered a 30 min optional nutrition course while studying medicine. Nutrition is not really considered a hard science, so your doctor probably meant well but was offering conventional wisdom. With so much misinformation and tradition out there, veganism can be difficult and it sounds like it was a tough step for you but you did it anyway. Be proud of yourself for getting there in spite of a tough journey!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind words. This year has been difficult but like I said I think know i have truly learned enough information to keep me on this path and have had enough trial and error to know that this is the best path for me in terms of health and feeling good. Thank you 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

